SAINT-ÉMILION

Only 30 minutes away from Bordeaux, Saint-Émilion is an ideal destination for a bucolic getaway. Though the city is known worldwide for its wine, let’s not forget it has a rich history, especially the medieval part. Another remarkable point: in 1999 Saint-Émilion’s Juridiction (jurisdiction) was designated a UNESCO World Heritage Site, thanks to its cultural landscapes. It was a first time ever for a wine-growing region!

Originally, a monk from Brittany

According to the legend, the city owes its name to Émilion, a Breton monk who lived in the 8th century. Saint-Émilion was a commercial and thriving city, a trading place providing the Juridiction’s best products (wine, seeds, building stones). The city was also a famous place of pilgrimage to see the patron saint’s relics. The beautiful city of Saint-Émilion crossed Middle Ages in an undeniable prosperity, reflected by the emblematic monuments, especially the amazing underground monolithic church!

A terroir of Grands Crus Classés

To get the AOC appellation (Appellation d’Origine Contrôlée – Controlled Designation of Origin), the vineyard owners must be located in a rigorously defined area. They have to follow the bill of specifications to the letter and, of course, produce red wine. The wines with the Saint-Émilion Grand Cru appellation can be entitled to a classification, revised every 10 years (the last classification was in 2012). The classification distinguishes 3 levels of quality:

  • 1er Grand Cru Classé A – 4 wine estates
  • 1er Grand Cru Classé – 14 wine estates
  • Grand Cru Classé – 64 wine estates

The Conseil des Vins (Wine Council), through the Jurade (wine brotherhood), guarantees the reputation and promotion of these wines, as well in France as in foreign countries.

Gastronomy, a local tradition

The gastronomy is inspired by the local terroir and heritage of Saint-Émilion’s local area. Wine is central to the local cuisine, which will delight your taste-buds.

Three starred restaurants are part of the Office de Tourisme partners: L’Hostellerie de Plaisance** and the Logis de la Cadène* in Saint-Émilion, and the Auberge Saint-Jean* in Saint-Jean-de-Blaignac!

Apart from starred restaurants, another gourmet tradition is unmissable in Saint-Émilion: the macaron. This delicious specialty is an heirloom handed down from generation to generation since the Ursulines sisters created their convent in the medieval city in 1620. Macarons are made with sweet and bitter almonds, eggs whites and sugar!

Relax in the heart of a wine-growing region

Renowned for its wines and heritage, Saint-Émilion’s region is also famous for the many wine-tourism activities you can find there. By bicycle, tuk-tuk, Segway, sidecar or even with a little train: families or friends have many environmentally friendly means of transport at their disposal to apprehend the ‘Grand Saint-Émilionnais’ at their own rhythm. And for the most adventurous people, Saint-Émilion can also be seen from the skies during a flight on board a hot-air balloon.

Detailed information, advices and news on www.saint-emilion-tourisme.com

Saint-Émilion Tourisme

Open 7 days a week (except December 25) – +33(0)5 57 55 28 28

Place des Créneaux – 33330 SAINT-ÉMILION

Follow us on Facebook, Instagram or Youtube!

Good to know :

Ask for the Aubeterre-sur-Dronne / St Emilion privilege pass and benefit from the reduced rate for a visit to one of the two underground churches !

A   seulement   30   minutes   de   Bordeaux,   Saint-­‐Emilion   est   une   destination   idéale   pour   une    escapade   bucolique.   Mondialement   connue   pour   son   vin,   il   ne   faut   pour   autant   pas   oublier    sa   riche   histoire,   notamment   médiévale.   Autre   fait   marquant   :   En   1999,   la   Juridiction   de    Saint-­‐Émilion   fut   inscrite   au   Patrimoine   Mondial   de   l’Humanité   pour   ses   paysages   culturels    par   l’UNESCO   :   une première   pour   un   vignoble   !

A   l’origine   un   moine   breton

Selon   la   légende,   la   cité   doit   son   nom   à    Émilion,   moine   breton   du    8ème   siècle.   Ville    commerçante   et   prospère,   lieu   de   transaction   de   ce   que   la   Juridiction   avait   à   fournir   de    meilleur   (vin,   grains,   pierre   à   bâtir),   mais   aussi   fameux   lieu   de   pèlerinage   sur   les   reliques   du    saint   patron,   la   belle   cité   de   Saint-­‐Émilion   a   traversé   le   Moyen-­‐Âge   dans   une   indéniable    prospérité,   que   reflètent   aujourd’hui   encore   ses   monuments   emblématiques,   en   particulier    l’incroyable   église   monolithe   souterraine   !

Un   terroir   de   Grands   Crus   Classés

Pour   obtenir   les    appellations   AOC   Saint-­‐Émilion   et/ou   Saint-­‐Émilion   Grand   Cru,   les    propriétaires   récoltants   doivent   être   situés   sur   un   territoire   strictement   défini,   respecter    scrupuleusement   le   cahier   des   charges   établi   et   bien   sûr,   produire   du   vin   rouge.   Les   vins   de    l’appellation   Saint-­‐Émilion   Grand   Cru   peuvent   prétendre   à   un   classement,   révisé   tous   les   10    ans   (le   dernier   datant   de   2012)   et   distinguant   3   niveaux   de   qualité   :

•   1er   Grand   Cru   Classé   A   -­‐   4   propriétés

•   1   er   Grand   Cru   Classé   -­‐   14   propriétés

•   Grand   Cru   Classé   -­‐   64   propriétés

C’est   le   Conseil   des   Vins,   par   le   biais   de   la   Jurade,   qui   assure   la   renommée   et   la   promotion   de    ces   vins,   tant   en   France   qu’à   l’étranger.

La   Gastronomie,   une   tradition   locale    

La   gastronomie   s’inspire   du   patrimoine   et   du   terroir   local   du   Saint-­‐Émilionnais.   Le   vin   y    occupe   ainsi   une   grande   place   et   participe   à   cette   cuisine   qui   ravira   vos   papilles.      Trois   tables   étoilées   font   ainsi   partie   des   partenaires   de   l’Office   de   Tourisme   :   L’Hostellerie    de   Plaisance**   et   Le   Logis   de   la   Cadène*   à   Saint-­‐Émilion,   ainsi   que   L’Auberge   Saint-­‐Jean*   à    Saint-­‐Jean-­‐de-­‐Blaignac   !

Outre   les   tables   étoilées,   une   autre   tradition   gastronomique   est   incontournable   à   Saint-­‐ Émilion   :   les   macarons.   Cette   spécialité   gourmande   se   transmet   de   génération   en   génération    depuis   que   les   sœurs   Ursulines   établirent   leur   couvent   dans   la   cité   médiévale en   1620.   Ils    sont   fabriqués   à   partir   d’amandes   douces   et   amères,   de   blanc   d’œufs   et   de   sucre   !

Détente   au   cœur   du   vignoble    

Réputé   pour   ses   vins   et   son   patrimoine,   le   Saint-­‐Émilionnais   l’est   aussi   pour   les   nombreuses    activités   œnotouristique   proposées   sur   son   territoire.   En   vélo,   en   tuk-­‐tuk,   en   segway,   en    side-­‐car   ou   encore   en   petit   train   :   familles   ou   amis   ont   de   nombreux   modes   de   locomotion    écologique   à   disposition   pour   appréhender   le   Grand   Saint-­‐Émilionnais   à   leur   rythme.   Et   pour   les   plus   aventureux,   Saint-­‐Émilion   peut   aussi   se   découvrir   «   vue   d’en   haut   »   lors   d’un   vol   en    montgolfière.

Informations   détaillées,   conseils   et   actualités   sur   www.saint-­‐emilion-­‐tourisme.com      

Saint-­‐Emilion   Tourisme      

Ouvert   7/7J   (hors   25   décembre)   –   05   57   55   28   28  

 Place   des   Créneaux   –   33330   Saint-­‐Emilion      

Et   retrouvez   nous   aussi   sur   Facebook,   Instagram   ou   Youtube   !

Photo: Vues générales cité © Heurisko   / église monolithe © Steve Le Clech